Life Of A Writer

What Makes A Writer: One Writer’s Opinion

What makes a writer? This is a question that I’ve been asked time and time again, and to be completely honest with you, I have never had a direct answer.

For those of you who have checked out the contributes/meet the writers page, you’ll know that I am a recent college graduate with a degree in English and a minor in Professional/Technical writing. When choosing my major almost 5 years ago now, everyone asked me what I wanted to do with a degree in English, and of course my answer was that I wanted to become a writer.

Now, I have always dreamed of becoming an author, but I’ve known that it can be a real long shot, so instead of taking a bunch of creative writing classes, I decided I would “be practical” and earn my minor in professional and technical writing instead. So what has become of that degree?

Well, I thought that almost ten months out of college I would have a full-time job in some little office. Where am I really? Still living at home, though I was fortunate enough to find a freelance/work from home position writing for an online news source. Was it my first choice of work? No, but I’m making money with the skills that I developed all through college, so for that, I am grateful.

So I’ve successfully become a writer, but what does that mean? Dose my degree label me as a writer? Do my skills? No.

What makes a writer is the passion within. I write because I have something to say, not because I was taught a certain set of skills in an academic setting. Do I want to write non-creatively for the rest of my life? Of course not! I still have a dream of becoming a published author, and I’m still going to work towards that dream, but I’ve come to realize that if I am going to call myself a writer, I need to stop saying and actually start doing.

I’m not a writer because of the degree hanging in my study. I am a writer because there is a story within my soul that needs to be shared with the world. I may not have the perfect spelling, grammar or punctuation that many assume go along with the title “writer” but I know that once I put my words to paper, I will have fulfilled some part of my destiny.

So I’ve rambled quite a bit here, and for those of you who kind of maybe skimmed most of this post, I’ll sum it up. What do I think makes a writer? The passion within, not the skills taught to someone. If you have something to say, then you can be a writer.

I’d like to hear what you guys think makes a writer, so share your thoughts in the comments below!

~ Lyn C.

2 thoughts on “What Makes A Writer: One Writer’s Opinion

Leave a Reply

