A to Z Blogging Challenge 2014

A To Z Blogging Challenge: B – Books

A To Z Blogging Challenge: B – Books

Now here is a question many don’t know the answer to: Do writers have to be readers? I have to say, as a writer myself, the answer to this question is a resounding yes! This brings me to the topic of today’s post: Books.

Books are a very important aspect to a writers daily life. Why? Because books are not only a form of relaxation, but also a form of both research and inspiration. Now, I know many who will read this post identify as a writer. I want to ask you all these question: What was the last time you were inspired by a book? What book was it? Did that book’s inspiration find a way into any of your written work?

Now, for those of you who are simply readers, have you ever experienced a moment while reading that inspired you to a point where you felt the need to express yourself? Or even simply share that moment with another? It’s that moment that we who identify as writers feel the need to write. We take those feelings of inspiration and we run for it. We run fast, and we run hard.

Many writers may disagree with me on this point because some writers find their inspiration in other outlets. I will never doubt their choices in a muse, but as for me, I know that books and reading will always be a part of my life, and will always be a necessity while writing.

What books have I been inspired by as of late? Just to name a few:

Sometimes Never by Cheryl McIntyre

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

Being Kalli by Rebecca Berto

All three of these books left me feeling something… Something that I related to so powerfully that I just had to express it in my own writing, with my own personal thoughts. Books that I can relate to not only work as a form of inspiration, but ultimately, end up becoming a form of research. These are the books I look to when I need to get different opinions and insights into certain situations or styles.

Overall, do I think books and reading are an essential part of a writer’s life? Yes! If I ever wanted to make it as a writer, I need to have my books. What do you all think of this final question? Are books essential to a writer’s life? Share you thoughts in the comments below!

Lyn C.

8 thoughts on “A To Z Blogging Challenge: B – Books

  1. I am not really a “writer”, but I am most definitely a reader. It makes sense that a writer must read. Writing is an art. Reading is viewing art. Art inspires. Great post!

  2. I must admit, I am not that much of a reader. I have great intentions when I pick up a book, but then, life gets in the way and the book goes on the shelf. I do have to say that my oldest daughter has always loved reading. One of my favorite photos of her as a child is of her holding her book and reading even though she was only two and probably didn’t know what she was looking at, but then again, maybe she did! She is now looking at different fields for college and has an interest in poetry and creative writing. She has expressed herself in her poetry and words and has shared them on twitter with a great feedback. I can’t wait to see where her love for books, writing and reading will lead her! {#atozchallenge}

    • Lyn C. Here! Your daughter sound just like myself growing up! Reading and writing at a young age. It’s a special passion that’s what it is! We here at Ragged Writers wish her luck on her next journey in life!

  3. I find reading is a way to get to the other side of writing, enjoy the journey without stressing about how to get there, and learn from those who write well.

    A to Z minion checking in to say hi. Great to have you signed up this year. Enjoy.

  4. Pingback: A To Z Blogging Challenge: H – Home Base | Ragged Writers

  5. Pingback: A To Z Blogging Challenge: J – Jealousy | Ragged Writers

Leave a Reply

