A to Z Blogging Challenge 2014

A To Z Blogging Challenge: J – Jealousy

Today’s post I know many writers can identify with. Remember when I talked about using books as a form of research and inspiration? Well, reading can also become a source of jealousy.

Have you ever seen the work of another and instantly become jealous of their abilities and final product? If you have, then don’t worry, it’s a totally normal response. Every artist has their moment where they are appreciating another’s work and then suddenly feel a pang of jealousy.

“Why didn’t I do that?”
“Now I know I could have done that!”
“I should have done that…”

Come on! Admit it! I know it’s happened to you all before. In fact, I’ve recnetly had two incidents where I became jealous of an another writer and/or their work. One of those moments was when I was getting to know a young author I had networked with. She was a self-published author, something I have always dreamed to be and I look up to her in many ways. What was it that made me jealous? The fact that she’s close to me in age and as of this post, she’s self-published some five books and has another two work-in-progresses on the way.

Talk about a busy bee! She has accomplished so much in her young life, and here I was with the little green monster on my shoulder. Yes, I respect and look up to her, but I’ll always be a tiny bit jealous of her accomplishments because I have yet to realize my dreams of self-publishing.

My second incident was just over a year ago after I finished reading the book Hopeless by Colleen Hoover. I instantly fell in love with the book and the author. I was so in love with it that I had to share it with my Grandmother, who shares my love for reading and just happened to be looking for book recommendations. Now, at this point I had no ill feelings towards the book or the author, I was just too in love with them both.

Well, that changed the moment my Grandmother finished reading the book. She loved the book just as much as I did. So why would I all of a sudden become jealous of the book? It all started when my Grandmother said: “Wait… You didn’t write this?” Now, don’t get me wrong, I was honored that my grandmother thought my abilities were anywhere near those of the oh so amazing Colleen Hoover… but after having some time to think, I realized I could have written a story like this. Nothing as amazing as Hopeless, but something! Why hadn’t I? That’s when I first became jealous of a book.

Now I want to hear from all of you. Have you ever been jealous of a book or a fellow writer? Share your experiences in the comments below!

Lyn C.

Leave a Reply

