A to Z Blogging Challenge 2014

A To Z Blogging Challenge: P – Point Of View

Every writer out there can relate to today’s post. I want to talk about point of view for today’s A to Z post because I want to see what my fellow readers and writers have to say about it.

While there are technically only a few different points of view a writer can use when telling their story, to readers, those points of view can turn into a million different ones. Why? Because every reader reads differently.

Now, I know that I find it hard to write  in a single point of view. I, personally, tend to switch between a narrator and first person point of view pretty regularly. Why? To be honest, I don’t even know why. Some scenes are easier to write in one point of view, and others in another. I know as a reader, I don’t think I have a specific point of view I prefer when reading… so maybe that’s why I don’t really have a preferred point of view when I write?

I know some of the more popular points of view tend to be first person and third person point of view. In both cases, it makes it quite easy for the reader to insert themselves directly into the character’s shoes. And I don’t know about all of you, but if I can’t become the character, then the book simply isn’t worth reading.

Before I end up rambling, I want to know what your preference are. What point of view do you prefer your stories to be written in? And for my writers, what point of view do you most often find yourself writing in? I really am curious to know everyone’s opinions, so either share your thoughts in the comments blow, or feel free to answer the poll!

~Lyn C.

 

4 thoughts on “A To Z Blogging Challenge: P – Point Of View

  1. I don’t think I have a preference for reading, but as a writer, I am drawn toward first person. I love giving my characters a chance to “talk” on the pages. My current project, I’ve been toying with third person, but right now, it leaves me feeling a bit flat and disconnected from the characters. The revision should be interesting.

    • You’ll have to come by and share with us your experience! I know a few different writers that are experimenting with third and also feeling a bit of disconnect. I’ll be interested to see what you decide!
      ~Lyn C.

  2. I’ve written exclusively third-person omniscient for about 20 years now. It’s just the voice and style that comes most naturally to me, both because it fits the historical genre, and because it’s what I’m most used to reading. Once in awhile, if I have a story focused on just one character instead of with an ensemble cast, I’ll have something closer to third-person limited, but for all intents and purposes, it’s still omniscient.

    I do enjoy short first-person interludes, like a letter, journal entry, love note, or newspaper op-ed. It’s fun to write in just one person’s voice for a few pages or a few paragraphs. I don’t know if I could sustain that over an entire book, both because I’m so severely out of practice and because it’d feel too limiting to be trapped in only one person’s head for hundreds of pages.

    • I know many who think that third-person just flows more naturally. Though I have to say, I do love short first-person interludes as well!
      ~Lyn C.

Leave a Reply

