A to Z Blogging Challenge 2014

A To Z Blogging Challenge: X – Xenophobia

The April A to Z Blogging Challenge is starting to slow down, which means I want to bring out a big word for today’s post! Xenophobia, “the fear of foreigners”, is a term that doesn’t often pop up in writing and literature, so why bother talk about it?

I recently had a conversation with a close friend of mine and we got into the topic of not only xenophobia, but also multiculturalism in literature. The topic came up while I was discussing some unfinished work from my college days almost a year ago now. My major was English, and I was in my final multicultural literature class and we were discussing  xenophobia in literature. The class, and the discussion ended with this question:

Does xenophobia (the fear of foreigners) exist in our writing today?

When it comes to certain books, I know the topic of xenophobia comes up quite a bit. Many books that concentrate on race, or a specific race for that matter talk about  the fear of other races and or the fear of other cultures. But does this topic show up only when reading a book specifically about race?

I want to hear from my readers what they have experienced when it comes to the topic of xenophobia. Have you come across it in a book that wasn’t centered around a specific race or culture? If you have, let us know the title and the author! I know I’d love to add some new books to my “to be read” list!

~Lyn C.

One thought on “A To Z Blogging Challenge: X – Xenophobia

  1. A huge number of classic novels are inherently xenophobic – but then the antagonist is often an outsider for reason of cultural isolation as much as geography. The question of ‘otherness’ is something we can write about in different ways – demonstrating that fear of ‘otherness’ is not necessarily a problem, and turning that fear around. Or we can reinforce stereotypes, which is a whole other issue.

    Lovely to find you – and good luck with your last few posts!

    Jemima
    #TeamDamyanti
    Blogging from Alpha to Zulu in April

Leave a Reply

