NaNoWriMo / Writing

NaNoWriMo Hangover: Winning Without The Word Count

NaNoWriMo has been over for nearly a month now, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t quite a few of us still suffering from our NaNoWriMo Hangover.

Every year NaNoWriMo proves to be one heck of a challenge for thousands of writers all around the globe. This year, both Nu Tael participated in NaNoWriMo, but only one of us completed the 50,000 word count challenge. This was my first year actually attempting to participate in NaNo, and I’m sad to report that I did not complete the 50K word count challenge, but does that mean that i didn’t win? Technically, yes. Because I didn’t hit the minimum word count, I did not receive a “Winners” badge for NaNoWriMo 2014, but I refuse to consider that a lose.

While I may not have completed the challenge in the literal since of the word, I refuse to say that I failed the challenge. The goal of NaNoWriMo is to simply get writers around the world to challenge themselves and to make some sort of progress on their written work. If we want to get technical, I completed a solid 784 words on my “official” NaNo draft, a far cry from the 50K minimum. But you know what, that is 784 words more in my draft then I began with!

What that 784 word count doesn’t include is my countless number of pages of hand written drafts and notes written over the span of November. While I may not have made a ton of headway in my official draft, I have made so much progress in my drafting and outlining of my story, and for that I consider myself a winner.

I am a winner because 1) I gave it a try, 2) Because I have 784 words more then I did in October of 2014 and 3) Because I have pages and pages of hand written drafts and notes that I can use to build up my novel even more! These are all things that have helped to move me forward in my attempts of writing my first full novel, and for that I consider myself a winner. NaNoWriMo is about making progress, and that is just what I did!

So how many of you out there gave NaNoWriMo a try and weren’t awarded with the official “winners” badge? Did you make some sort of progress? If so, you are a a winner in my book! Share your NaNoWriMo experience with us in the comments below!

~Lyn C.

Leave a Reply

